Research Guides: Education Law: Secondary Sources

Other Books

Public School Law by Martha M. McCarthy; Nelda H. Cambron-McCabe; Suzanne E. Eckes
Call Number: 5th Floor KF4119 .M38 2014
The book addresses legal principles applicable to practitioners in a succinct but comprehensive manner. Information in this text will help alleviate concerns voiced by educators who either do not know the legal concepts that govern schools or feel that the scales of justice have been tipped against them.
Runaway and homeless youth and the law : model state statutes
Call Number: 5th Floor KF3735.A7 R86 2009
Right to education -- The Equitable Education Act -- Juvenile status offenses -- Custodial petitions and homeless youth as parents -- Access to civil protection orders -- Access to Health Care for Homeless Youth Act -- The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Runaway and Homeless Youth Safety Act -- Special provisions for immigrant youth -- Youth access to custodial systems and services -- Youth discharged from custodial systems -- and much more
Justice for Kids by Nancy E. Dowd (Editor)
Call Number: 5th Floor KF9779 J87 2011
Children and youth become involved with the juvenile justice system at a significant rate. Justice for Kids is a volume of work by leading academics and activists that focuses on ways to intervene at the earliest possible point to rehabilitate and redirect--to keep kids out of the system--rather than to punish and drive kids deeper.
Resolving Disputes about Educational Provision by Neville Harris; Sheila Riddell
Call Number: 4th Floor K3751 .H37 2011
With contributions by recognised experts in the field of education law, this book is a comparative study of the resolution of special education disputes, including via mediation. It analyses the varying approaches in England, Scotland, the US and the Netherlands and addresses major questions of dispute resolution, redress, judicial and non-judicial approaches and the protection of citizens' rights.

Education Law

This guide highlights available resources for issues in education law. The content covers a wide variety of issues related to education law, including:

Right to Education
Special Education
Truancy
School District Issues

Secondary sources, primary sources, Connecticut specific sources, legislative and policy sources, as well as current awareness sources are all provided for this subject matter.

In addition to this guide, please also see our guide on Child Welfare, Juvenile Justice, Health Law, Law & Psychology, and the guide for the Center for Children's Advocacy.

Major Treatises - Electronic

Rapp on Education Law (Lexis)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes such topics as: banning of books, school prayer, dealing with students afflicted with AIDS, tax-exempt status for parochial schools, funding accreditations, tort liability * Guidance on collective bargaining strategies, drafting codes of student conduct and conducting student searches * Checklists * Tables of state legislation concerning important issues facing educational institutions
Children and the Law: Rights & Obligations (Westlaw)
- This link opens in a new window
Children and the Law: Rights and Obligations is a multiple-volume set providing comprehensive treatment of the complex issues surrounding children and the legal system. The content includes in-depth analysis of topics, such as:
• children's legal rights
• child welfare
• termination of parental rights
• child custody and support
• guardianship
• juvenile delinquency
• dependency and severance
• adoption
• education
• domestic relations
Legal Rights of Children (Westlaw)
- This link opens in a new window
This treatise provides guidance in understanding the various federal, state, and uniform laws, regulations and procedures that now apply to children and their families. The content includes:
• Child custody
• Paternity
• Ethnic, sexual or religious discrimination against children and adolescents
• Child pornography
• School district issues
• Rights of handicapped children
• Parental torts
• Children as witnesses
• Educational Rights of Children
Representing the Child Client (Lexis)
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, continuously updated treatise on representing children. Includes topics such as legal status, emancipation, representing children in dependency proceedings and juvenile justice proceedings.
Education Law Practice Area (Lexis)
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary and secondary sources available on Lexis in Education Law.

Major Treatises - Print

Legal Rights of Children 3d by Thomas R. Young
Call Number: 5th Floor KF479 L442
This treatise provides guidance in understanding the various federal, state, and uniform laws, regulations and procedures that now apply to children and their families.
Representing the Child Client by Michael J. Dale
Call Number: KF9779 .R46
A comprehensive, continuously updated treatise on representing children. Includes topics such as legal status, emancipation, representing children in dependency proceedings and juvenile justice proceedings.

Study Aids

The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell by Mark Alexander
Call Number: Reserve KF4119.3 .A43 2015
ISBN: 9780314288851
Publication Date: 2015-03-06
Special Education Law in a Nutshell by Ruth Colker
Call Number: Reserve KF4209.3 .C65 2018
ISBN: 1683285891
Publication Date: 2017-10-31

Education Law

Other Books

Education Law

Major Treatises - Electronic

Major Treatises - Print

Study Aids

Quick Links