Skip to Main Content

Dismantling Bias - LLNE & SNELLA Fall 2020 Virtual Conference

About the Recipient

Darcy Kirk, UConn School of Law, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Associate Dean for Library and Technology, and Distinguished Professor of Law

A graduate of Vassar College, Simmons College, and Boston College Law School, Darcy has a wealth of academic library experience, including positions at Widener Library at Harvard, the Boston College Law Library, the University of Maryland, Georgetown University Law Center, and at UConn Law School.

Darcy is a frequent presenter at AALL and other professional conferences, where she speaks on teaching legal research skills and the Uniform Electronic Legal Materials Act. She is the author of “The Law School Librarian: Filling in the Gaps,” in The Law School Librarian’s Role as an Educator: Leading Librarians on Adapting to New Technologies, Maximizing Research, and Helping Students Transition from Law School to Law Firm.  Darcy is also a distinguished professor of law at UConn Law School, teaching Higher Education Law and the Access to Justice courses, while serving as the law school’s Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Associate Dean for Library and Technology.

Darcy has also held leadership positions in several law library organizations, having previously served as President of AALL, the American Association of Law Libraries, as well as treasurer and a member of the executive committee of NELLCO, the New England Law Library Consortium.  Darcy was also past president of LLNE, and is the 2019 recipient of AALL’s highest honor, the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award.

About the Award

The Edgar Award is bestowed on a law librarian (living or deceased) who as a member of the Law Librarians of New England, has made significant and sustained contributions to the field of law librarianship over the course of his or her career.


The Executive Board shall consider the following criteria in evaluating candidates for the Edgar Award:

  • Achievement in a particular area of law librarianship;
  • Contributions to the Law Librarians of New England;
  • Contributions to the professional literature;
  • Contributions to the development of innovative techniques or research;
  • Contributions to the broader legal and/or library communities; and/or
  • Mentoring and coaching of newer members of the profession.


Nominees for the Edgar Award may be submitted by any member of the Law Librarians of New England to the Law Librarians of New England Executive Board, or to a committee or individual(s) designated by the Executive Board.

The Award, a plaque with an appropriate inscription, shall be presented at the discretion of the Executive Board. Only one award will be given per year.  However, there is no requirement that an award be given in any year.

Previous Edgar Award Winners

  • Edgar Bellafontaine, awarded 1998
  • Maria Sekula, awarded  2000
  • Karen Moss, awarded at LLNE Spring Meeting, April 21, 2006
  • Dan J. Freehling, awarded at LLNE Annual Business Meeting, July 25, 2011
  • Marnie Warner, awarded at LLNE Fall Meeting, October 3, 2013
  • Karen Quinn, awarded at LLNE Spring Meeting, April 24, 2015
  • Anne Acton, awarded at LLNE Spring Meeting, June 8, 2018

Developed by:

Ad Hoc Edgar Award Commitee
Bonnie Koneski-White, Chair
Karen Moss
Ken Svengalis