Research Guides: Sexuality, Gender Identity, and the Law: Getting Started

Helpful Guides

Williams Institute Reading Room: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resources in Law and Public Policy
From the Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Law and Public Policy at the UCLA School of Law, this guide contains comprehensive bibliographies of relevant resources.
UConn Gender & Sexual Minorities (LGBTQIA) Studies Subject Guide
This UConn guide provides tips and resources for locating books, films, journal articles, news sources, and websites for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, and asexual, and other gender and sexual minorities studies.

In addition to searching in legal research platforms, such as Westlaw and Lexis, try these online resources:

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
International alternative, radical, and left periodicals designed to provide access to emerging theories and practices of radical social change. It indexes journals, newspapers, and magazine articles from 1991 to the present with some full text.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 This link opens in a new window
1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Features content from 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains current and historic works in the area of LGBT studies, including scholarly, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications. Indexes and abstracts of over 500 journals and books. Includes images, newsletters, speeches, and grey literature.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Core topics in women's studies as well as current topics in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science, public policy, business, and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature. Contains some full text.