Animal Law

A 2016 Office of Legislative Research Report providing a summary of the court procedure for an animal cruelty case.

Provides detailed analytical reports, bill analyses, and public act summaries related to a variety of issues.

Summary of Connecticut's primary animal cruelty statute (CGS § 53-247) and the outcome of offenses brought under it from 2007 through 2017.

State of Connecticut Agency

Information about wildlife in Connecticut and laws relating to wildlife in Connecticut.

The Animal Law Resource Center provides access to information about legislation and legal matters pertaining to animals. All information on proposed federal and state legislation, state and federal laws, case law summaries, and bibliography of animal law resources may be accessed free of charge.

A comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including full text cases (US, historical, and UK); US statutes; topics and comprehensive explanations; legal articles on a variety of animal topics; and, an international collection.

Animal rights nonprofit organization seeking to change the legal status of at least some nonhuman animals from that of property to that of persons, with a goal of securing rights to bodily liberty and bodily integrity.

Information related to animal rights advocacy. Includes a collection of statutes and case law related to animal rights.

Includes legal resources related to animal law and animal advocacy.

Resources related to wildlife advocacy.

Information about proposed legislation related to animal welfare.

"The NABR Animal Law §ection focuses on the potentially disruptive and rapidly growing area of animal law."

Contains materials about the link between violence to animals and violence to humans.

The Digest of Federal Resource Laws of Interest to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service was originally published by the Office of Legislative Services (now the Division of Congressional and Legislative Affairs) in 1979.

The Office of Protected Resources follows several mandates for the protection of endangered and threatened marine life, marine mammals, and the ecosystems upon which they depend.

This tenth edition of the Animal Protection Laws compendium contains the general animal protection and related statutes for all of the states, principal districts and territories of the United States of America, and for all of Canada.

A collection of 50 State Surveys in a variety of subject areas.

A collection of 50 State Surveys in a variety of subject areas.

Find the most comprehensive and complete 50-state information in NCSL's searchable bill tracking databases. Select a topic listed below to find complete bill information. The status of bills listed in most of these databases is updated every week. Search by subtopics, year, status (e.g., pending, enacted, to governor, etc.) or enter keywords to identify bills.

In depth articles concerning specific issues in law. Articles often provide annotations and citations to relevant cases and statutes for all 50 states.

This research guide provides detailed information about the legislative process, how to compile a legislative history, and how to locate Connecticut Legislative materials.

A research guide with detailed information about compiling a federal legislative history.