Research Guides: Juvenile Justice: Secondary Sources

Other Books

Justice for Kids by Nancy E. Dowd (Editor)
Call Number: 5th Floor KF9779 J87 2011
Children and youth become involved with the juvenile justice system at a significant rate. Justice for Kids is a volume of work by leading academics and activists that focuses on ways to intervene at the earliest possible point to rehabilitate and redirect--to keep kids out of the system--rather than to punish and drive kids deeper.
Significant Cases in Juvenile Justice by Craig Hemmens; Benjamin Steiner; David Mueller
Call Number: 5th Floor KF9778 .H46 2013
A clear, comprehensive introduction to juvenile justice that includes case briefs, along with analyses, explanations, and short excerpts.
Kids, Cops, and Confessions by Barry C. Feld
Call Number: 4th Floor HV9104 .F45 2012
Barry Feld offers the first report of what actually happens when police question juveniles. Drawing on remarkable data, Feld analyzes interrogation tapes and transcripts, police reports, juvenile court filings and sentences, and probation and sentencing reports, describing in rich detail what actually happens in the interrogation room.

Juvenile Justice

This guide highlights resources available for issues related to juvenile justice and juvenile law. The content includes secondary sources, primary sources, state specific resources, legislative and policy research, and current awareness.

In addition to this guide, please also see our guide on Child Welfare, Education Law, Health Law, Law & Psychology, and the guide for the Center for Children's Advocacy.

Major Treatises - Electronic

Rights of Juveniles (Westlaw)
- This link opens in a new window
Discusses jurisdiction, pre-judicial process: police investigation, the adjudicatory process (including child abuse cases), the dispositional process, the future direction of the juvenile court.
Legal Rights of Children (Westlaw)
- This link opens in a new window
This treatise provides guidance in understanding the various federal, state, and uniform laws, regulations and procedures that now apply to children and their families. The content includes:
• Child custody
• Paternity
• Ethnic, sexual or religious discrimination against children and adolescents
• Child pornography
• School district issues
• Rights of handicapped children
• Parental torts
• Children as witnesses
• Educational Rights of Children
Representing the Child Client (Lexis)
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, continuously updated treatise on representing children. Includes topics such as legal status, emancipation, representing children in dependency proceedings and juvenile justice proceedings.
Myers on Evidence of Interpersonal Violence Child Maltreatment, Intimate Partner Violence, Rape, Stalking and Elder Abuse (Westlaw)
This publication provides in-depth analysis of the broad range of evidence issues arising in such cases, with detailed textual discussion, footnotes containing hundreds of cases from federal, military, and state courts, and brief descriptions and/or pertinent quotes of the cases. Includes Children in Court, Physical Child Abuse, Neglect, Child Sexual Abuse, and more.
Children and the Law: Rights & Obligations (Westlaw)
- This link opens in a new window
Children and the Law: Rights and Obligations is a multiple-volume set providing comprehensive treatment of the complex issues surrounding children and the legal system. The content includes in-depth analysis of topics, such as:
• children's legal rights
• child welfare
• termination of parental rights
• child custody and support
• guardianship
• juvenile delinquency
• dependency and severance
• adoption
• education
• domestic relations

Major Treatises - Print

Representing the Child Client by Michael J. Dale
Call Number: KF9779 .R46
A comprehensive, continuously updated treatise on representing children. Includes topics such as legal status, emancipation, representing children in dependency proceedings and juvenile justice proceedings.
Rights of Juveniles: The Juvenile Justice System by Samuel M. Davis
Call Number: KF9794 .D38
Discusses jurisdiction, pre-judicial process: police investigation, the adjudicatory process (including child abuse cases), the dispositional process, the future direction of the juvenile court.
Trial Manual for Defense Attorneys in Juvenile Delinquency Cases by Anthony G. Amsterdam; Martin Guggenheim; Randy Hertz
Call Number: 5th Floor KF9709 .H46 2013
This updated second edition is a complete how-to guidebook for handling juvenile court cases from beginning to end. It details the tasks, skills, rules of law, and issues of strategic judgment involved in representing clients in juvenile court.

Study Aids

Juvenile Justice Administration in a Nutshell by Barry C. Feld
Call Number: Reserve KF9780 F45 2014
ISBN: 9780314181381
This Nutshell title focuses exclusively on the criminal and non-criminal misconduct of children that bring them within the jurisdiction of juvenile courts and examines law enforcement, judicial, and administrative responses to that misconduct.

Juvenile Justice

Other Books

Juvenile Justice

Major Treatises - Electronic

Major Treatises - Print

Study Aids

Quick Links