Research Guides: Cite-Checking and Source Guide for the Connecticut Journal of International Law: Cite-Checking

Cite-Checking Tips

Do not forget that the source cited by the author may not be the most authoritative source to cite and it is your responsibility to find and cite the most authoritative source. For instance, if an author cites Wikipedia as the source he used for the text of the U.S. Constitution, you will want to change that to the proper citation in the United States Code.

Once you have obtained the source which is cited, you can verify the accuracy of the citation.

Remember that if there is an electronic version of the text used by the author, you can probably verify the accuracy of the citation without having to request it on ILL. - Use full-text searchable databases to assist you in locating particular quotes and paraphrases, such as the following:

Google Scholar
You can link to UCONN holdings in settings
Google Books

HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world covering all academic disciplines. View scanned pages of public domain and open access titles, or snippets from copyrighted material.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Founded as a non-profit collaboration between libraries and publishers, Project MUSE provides complete, full text versions of over 100 scholarly journals from over 120 publishers including leading university presses and scholarly societies in the arts and social sciences. Includes images of the actual articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of essential scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology. Our license prohibits users from copying, downloading, or attempting to download an entire issue or issues of a journal.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
Digital images of more than 21,000 American and British legal treatises from the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes full text and keyword searching.
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text legal database that includes primary and secondary legal materials, legal news, and law related documents.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text legal database that includes primary and secondary legal materials, legal news, and law related documents.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law combines primary legal content, state and federal court dockets/filings, BNA publications, advanced search features, and practice-driven commentary and analysis with Bloomberg's business content. Registration required. Go to https://www.bloomberglaw.com/activate to create an account. You must use your UConn email address to set up an account.

Cite-Checking and Source Guide for the Connecticut Journal of International Law

Cite-Checking Tips

Quick Links