International Trade Law Research

Websites:

• CARICOM [official website]- (formerly Caribbean Free Trade Association)

Websites:

• Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) [official website] - Includes Burundi, Comoros, DRC, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopea, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

• East African Community (EAC) [official website] - Includes Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda

• Southern Africa Development Community (SADAC) [offical website] - Includes Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

• Communaute Economic des Etats d L'Afrique Central /Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC/ECCAS French/English) [offical website] Also in Spanish and Portuguese

• Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) [official website] Includes Benin, Burkino Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinee, Guinee Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

See Africa Economic Development Institute (AEDI) Free Trade Agreeement database for texts of bilateral and multilateral African Trade Agreements

Selected titles in Law Library's collection:

• Gathii, African regional trade agreements as legal regimes, 2011 - print at call number KQC947 G38 2011

Websites:

• NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement) [official website]

Selected titles in Law Library's collection:

• Folsom, NAFTA, Free Trade and Foreign Investment in the Americas in a Nutshell (5th ed,  2014) - print on Reserve at call number KDZ944 .F65 2014 - see also 2012 & 2008 editions [title slightly different] on 5th floor.

Websites:

• MERCOSUR/L [offical website in Spanish & Portuguese] is the regional South American trade association - Inculdes Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela and Bolivia.

• Comunidad Andina (Andean Community of Nations (CAN) formerly Andean Pact) [official website in Spanish] - includes Bolivia, Columbia, Ecuador and Peru.

• Union de Naciones Suramericanas (UNASUR in Spanish; UNASUL in Portuguese, UZAN in Dutch) Union of South American Nations (USAN) in English - [official website in Spanish, Portuguese, English and Dutch] Includes members of MERCOSUR/L, the Andean Community of Nations and Chile, Guyana, and Suriname.

Selected titles in Law Library's collection:

• Franca, Lixinski & Olmos Guipponi, eds., The law of MERCOSUR, 2010 - print at call no. KH736.M47 L38 2010

• Dromi, Código del MERCOSUR:  tratado, protocolos, acuerdos, declaraciones, decisiones, resoluciones, directivas, recomendaciones, 8 vols., 1996 - print at call no KH736 M47 A18 1996

Websites:

• Dominican Republic - Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR) [Official US website] - Trade agreement with NAFTA members

• Sistema de la Integracion Centroamericana (SICA ) [official website- Spanish & English] - Includes Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, and Belize.

Websites:

• ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA Council) [Official website]

• Sourth Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) [official website] - Part of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

• Asia-PacificTrade Agreement (APTA, formerly known as the Bangkok Agreement) [official website - UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific - ESCAP]

• Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) [official website]

Selected titles in Law Library's collection:

• Davidson, comp. & ed., Trading arrangements in the Pacific Rim: ASEAN and APEC,  2010-  on Westlaw - ID required; Print - 1995-current -  at call no. KNE172 A3 T73 1995.

Website:

• Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) [Wikipedia entry] - Parties: Chile, Brunei, Singapore, New Zealand; Agreement Reached:  United States [withdrew January 2017], Canada, Mexico, Australia, Japan, Malaysia, Peru, Vietnam; Interested Parties: South Korea, Colombia, Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand, Indonesia.

Selected titles in Law Library's collection:

• Cimino-Isaacs & Schott, eds., Trans-Pacific Partnership: an assessment, 2016 - print at call number HF1456.5 P3 T77 2016.

• Bhala, ed., TPP objectively: law, economics, and national secuirty of history's largest, longest free trade agreement, 2016 - print at call number KVC947.A42005 B43 2016x.

• Schott, Kotschwar & Muir, Understanding the Trans-Pacific Partnership, 2013 - print at call number HF2570.7 S36 2013

• Petri, Plummer & Zhai, eds., The Trans-Pacific Partnership and Asia-Pacific integration: a quantitative assessment, 2012 - print at call number HC412 T73 2012.

Note that we also have electronic access to various U.S. Government hearings, reports and other documents regarding the TPP.  Check the catalog or ask a librarian for assistance in locating these.

Websites:

• European Union (EU) -  formerly Euorpean Communities, European Common Market) - [official website] - Includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom

• European Free Trade Association (EFTA)  [official website] - Includes Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland.

• Eurasian Customs Union  [Eurasian Economic Commission - official website in Russian with English version, ] - Includes Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Moldova and Armenia. May be superseded by Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) aka Eurasian Union (EAU) in 2015 according to treaty signed May 29. 2014 between Belaurs, Kazakhstan and Russia.

Selected titles from Law School Library collection:

• Giurnelli, Coercing, constraining and signalling: explaning UN and EU sanctions after the Cold War (2011) - print at call no KZ6373 G58 2011.

• Eckes, EU counter-terrorist policies and fundamental rights: the case of individual sanctions (2009) - online and print at call no. KJE971.5 E36 2009.

• Koutrakos, Trade, foreign policy, and defense in EU constitutional law: the legal regulation of sanctions, exports of dual-use goods and armaments (2001) - print at KJE6794 K69 2001