Skip to main content

Sources of Public International Law

The sources of international law to be used in US courts are set out in the Restatement (3d) of the Foreign Relations Law of the United States. The sources for most international courts are set out in the Statute of the ICJ. This guide helps you find them

Legal Scholarship

Legal scholarship that may be considered as a source for international law in the international  and United States courts is the work done by the top scholars in the field throughout the world. This requires that you familiarize yourself with the scholarship in the area of law that you are concerned with to determine who it would be appropriate to cite.

  • A useful source for finding such information is the Bibliography of the International Court of Justice which was published in the International Court of Justice Yearbook - Call no.KZ6273 .I58 - Print Electronic PDF (Hein) as Chapter IX 1946/7-1963/4 and then as a separate publication entitled Bibliographie de la Cour internationale de justice 1964/5-current - [Law Library lacks 52/1998 volume] - Call no. KZ6272 .B55 - Print
  • You might also look for the the authors of publications presented at international conferences. Use the LC Subject Heading International Law - Congresses to find such in catalogs and other databases. Example: Annuaire de l'institut de droit international, 1877-current - Call no. KZ24.I47 I58 - Law Library has v.61/1985-current[2011] - Print
  • United Nations International Law Commission publications are also a good source. See  Analytical guide to the work of the international law commission, 1949-1997, pub.1998 - Call no. KZ1287.I59 A53 1998 - Print - Electronic PDF and The work of the international law commission, 2004 - Call no.KZ1287.I59 W67 2004 - PrintElectronic PDF (Hein) and the Yearbook of the International Law Commission 1949-current Call no. KZ1287.I59 Y43 - Law Library lacks part of 1998 - Print
  • Another source to look at is the Recueil des cours of the Academie de Droit International, 1923-current - Print at call no. KZ24.H35 R43 - Law Library lacks some volumes

Of course, look at the bibliographies and footnotes of treatises, books and articles on your topic to locate others.

To locate books,  journals and databases in the UCONN Law Library, use the online catalog.  To find books and journals that the UCONN Law Library does not have, use WorldCat  (NetID may be required)

To locate articles that UCONN does have access to, use Google Scholar

To locate articles in legal journals that that the UCONN Law Library may or may not have access to, use the legal periodical indexes.

Also look at our full-text periodical research databases [NetID may be required], such as HeinOnline, JSTOR and check the E-Journal Locator to find journals to which we have access in these and other subscription databases. Lexis Advance, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law are also sources of legal journal and newspaper articles.