Skip to main content

Treaties and International Agreements

Do you need to find the text of a current or past U.S. treaty or international agreement? Do you need to verify whether it is in force? This guide will help you find the text and verify whether or not it is currently in force.

Unoffical Historical Texts

Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements between the United States and Other Powers (1965 ed., orig. pub. 1910-1938 - Call no. KZ236 1965) (cited as Malloy) Covers 1776 - 1937.

Treaties and other International Acts of the United States of America (ed. Miller, pub. 1931-1948 - Call no. KZ235.3 .U552) (cited as Miller) Covers 1776-1863.

Treaties and other International Agreements of the United States of America (comp. Bevans, pub.1968 -1976 - Call no. KZ236 1968) (cited as Bevans) Covers 1776-1949

 

Index to Malloy, Miller & Bevans, etc: (Print - Call no. KZ235.3 U57)

 

Official Texts

United States Statutes at Large (title varies). Call no. KF50 U5 - Source of official treaty texts 1778-1949. (cited as Stat.)

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements. Call no KZ235.3 .U55 - Source of official treaty texts 1950-1984 (cited as U.S.T.) Ceased publication.

Treaties and Other International Acts Series. 1946- Call no.KZ235.3 .U552 - Source of official treaty texts 1982-1996 (cited as T.I.A.S.) Continued by TIAS database on State Dept. website.

Senate Treaty Documents (called Senate Executive Documents until 1981) 1970-most current - Source of treaty texts during ratification process (cited as Treaty Doc. or Exec. Doc.) Official electronic on Thomas.

  • Micro (CIS) Library has 1970-2006
  • Electronic PDF (Hein) 1980-current - Go to U.S. Treaties & Agreements Library - Treaty Publications

Senate Executive Reports. Congressional Information Service (CIS) - Source of treaty texts during ratification process (cited as Exec. Rpt.). Offical electronic on Thomas.

  • Micro (CIS) Library has 1970-2006
  • Electronic (Proquest Congressional) Has Congressional documents back to 1815. Use Advanced Search function.

Executive Agreement Series 1929-1946 (cited as E.A.S.)

  • Electronic PDF (Hein) - Go to Treaties & Agreements Library - Treaty Publications

Federal Register 1936-present - Some international agreement texts are published here as Federal Agency documents  (cited as F.R.)

Multinational Treaties & Agreements

Official texts of multilateral international treaties are each kept by the body which serves as the secretariat for that treaty. Use the various treaty indexes in Indexes and Guides at the Home tab to help you locate treaty texts.

  • Here are some of the most used multilateral treaty collections that we have in print:

 

Unofficial Modern Texts

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements Current Service (Micro - covers 1990-present - Hein)

KAV Agreements (Electronic - covers 1987-2013- HeinOnline) (cited as KAV) Electronic only database that has texts before TIAS number assigned; most texts included in above title.

Consolidated Treaties and Internatonal Agreements Current Document Service, United States (Library has 1990-current [2011] - Oceana)  (cited as C.T.I.A.) Oceana's TIARA database cites to this set if full-text not in database.

International Legal Materials (covers 1962-present - American Society of International Law - Call no. KZ64 .I58) (cited as I.L.M.) Contains texts of notable U.S. treaties among other foreign and interanational materials.

  • Print - Library holdings not complete

 

Subject Guide