Skip to Main Content

Critical Law Librarianship-LLNE / SNELLA Spring 2022 Meeting

About the Recipient

Ann DeVeaux, Director of the Quinnipiac University School of Law Lynne L. Pantalena Law Library

After almost a 44-year career at the law school, Ann is retiring from the Pantalena Law Library in June 2022. Ann was a member of the first graduating class of the law school in 1980. As a law student, Ann began working as a law library assistant in technical services. While intending to practice law when she graduated, she quickly learned that she really enjoyed working with the law librarians and was fascinated learning about each functional area of the law library. Virginia Kelsh was the director of the law library during this time. She mentored and encouraged Ann to pursue her M.L.S. degree after law school which she did. Ann held several positions in the law library before she became Director in 1992. Ann knew that law librarianship was the right choice for her, and she has had a fulfilling and engaging professional life.

In Spring of 1979, Virginia Kelsh and the staff of the law library hosted a joint LLNE and SNELLA meeting on the preservation of books. After the hosting experience, the successful program, and meeting members who attended, Ann's dedication to and involvement in both of the chapters began. LLNE and SNELLA became an important part of her professional life. Throughout the years, she attended countless meetings of both associations and became involved in the life of these organizations by serving on the executive board and various committees, hosting meetings and events, and being of service, if possible, to do whatever was asked of her.

Ann attended her first AALL annual meeting in Washington, D.C. in 1981. Since then, she has attended over thirty annual meetings and always enjoyed seeing and supporting friends and colleagues from LLNE and SNELLA at the chapter events and member presentations at the annual conference.

Ann made many friends through the chapters, had incredible role models, found wonderful mentors, and was energized by attending, interacting, and learning at the educational programs. She benefited in numerous ways from her continuing involvement, dedication, and service to these organizations. In return, she mentored new members and embraced and encouraged other colleagues through the years. Ann made a difference, contributed time and energy, and with the collaboration of others in the association supported LLNE.

The Edgar Award was envisioned and approved when Ann was vice president of LLNE. Edgar Bellafontaine, the Director of the Social Law Library, and the inspiration for this award, received the first Edgar award in 1998. Ann never imagined that she would be a recipient of the Edgar Award and is honored that her colleagues nominated her for this recognition.

Ann held the following offices:

Vice President/President Elect, President, Past President of SNELLA (1983-1989)

Vice President/President Elect, President, Past President of LLNE (1998-2001)

Vice President/President Elect, President, Past President of NELLCO Executive Committee (2004-2010)

About the Award

The Edgar Award is bestowed on a law librarian (living or deceased) who as a member of the Law Librarians of New England, has made significant and sustained contributions to the field of law librarianship over the course of his or her career.


The Executive Board shall consider the following criteria in evaluating candidates for the Edgar Award:

  • Achievement in a particular area of law librarianship;
  • Contributions to the Law Librarians of New England;
  • Contributions to the professional literature;
  • Contributions to the development of innovative techniques or research;
  • Contributions to the broader legal and/or library communities; and/or
  • Mentoring and coaching of newer members of the profession.


Nominees for the Edgar Award may be submitted by any member of the Law Librarians of New England to the Law Librarians of New England Executive Board, or to a committee or individual(s) designated by the Executive Board.

The Award, a plaque with an appropriate inscription, shall be presented at the discretion of the Executive Board. Only one award will be given per year.  However, there is no requirement that an award be given in any year.

Previous Edgar Award Winners

  • Edgar Bellafontaine, awarded 1998
  • Maria Sekula, awarded 2000
  • Karen Moss, awarded at LLNE Spring Meeting, April 21, 2006
  • Dan J. Freehling, awarded at LLNE Annual Business Meeting, July 25, 2011
  • Marnie Warner, awarded at LLNE Fall Meeting, October 3, 2013
  • Karen Quinn, awarded at LLNE Spring Meeting, April 24, 2015
  • Anne Acton, awarded at LLNE Spring Meeting, June 8, 2018
  • Darcy Kirk, awarded at LLNE Fall Meeting, October 16, 2020
  • Mike Hughes, awarded at the LLNE Fall Meeting, 2021

Developed by:

Ad Hoc Edgar Award Commitee
Bonnie Koneski-White, Chair
Karen Moss
Ken Svengalis