Research Guides: Cite-Checking and Source Guide for the Connecticut Journal of International Law: Secondary Legal & Non-Legal Materials

Finding books and articles not in the Law Library

To find books or journals that the UCONN Law Library does not have but which you can borrow through Interlibrary Loan (ILL), use:

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of titles from libraries across the world, covering information back to the 11th century.

To find freely available books and articles use:

Google Books
Google Scholar
You can link to UCONN holdings in settings

Using the Library's Catalog to Find Articles & Books

To find books, journals and journal articles that the UCONN Law Library has use the online catalog. See the videos for helpful hints in using it.

Library Catalog
Catalog How To Videos
These short videos will demonstrate how to perform common searches in the library catalog.

Book Catalogs & Databases

You can use these full-text collections to find U.S. & non-U.S law books available through the UCONN Law Library (or use the catalog):

HeinOnline Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law Publications This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 50 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law. View publications such as the 22-volume set, A Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law. Book and Articles in English by Charles Szladits, along with An Introduction to the Legal System of the United States by E. Allan Farnsworth, among various others.
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized full-text images of U.S. federal and state primary law from the executive, judicial, and legislative branches, as well as primary and secondary legal materials from other foreign jurisdictions.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable digital archive of foreign, comparative and international legal treatises.

For law and non-law books, you can search:

HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world covering all academic disciplines. View scanned pages of public domain and open access titles, or snippets from copyrighted material.

Quick Links

Periodical Indexes & Databases

Use these Indexes and full-text collections to find U.S., non-U.S. law journals & non-legal periodicals and articles available through the UCONN Law Library:

Legal Periodical Indexes
Click for access to Legal Source, Legal Trac, Index to Legal Periodicals and historical indexes as well as the the Current Index to Legal Periodicals
E-Journal Locator
Search for electronic resources by title, subject, or citation
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Includes a number of foreign law journals in full-text.

HeinOnline Foreign & International Law Resources Database This link opens in a new window
Includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permament Court of International Justice series.
HeinOnline International & Non-U.S. Law Journals This link opens in a new window
A sub collection of the Law Journal Library which contains journals on the subject of international law and journals published outside of the United States.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of essential scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology. Our license prohibits users from copying, downloading, or attempting to download an entire issue or issues of a journal.

Szladits' bibliography on foreign and comparative law by Charles Szladits; Vratislav Pechota
Publication Date: 1959-1994
on HeinOnline which overs article and book publications from 1789-1990. - see also print editions at call number K38.B53 that go up to 1998.

Also remember that you can use the periodicals on Westlaw, Lexis Advance (and through it Lexis.com), Bloomberg Law and other subscription databases such as: Project MUSE, ProQuest, etc.

Please ask a Reference Librarian for assistance in using any of these resources!