Skip to main content

Research Guide for Students Studying Abroad

This is meant to assist those UCONN Law students who are exchange students at foreign law schools. The emphasis is on English-language materials available to UCONN Law students in electronic and print formats.

Translations & Translators

Websites/Databases

  • EuroVoc - European Union's multi-lingual thesaurus - provides tool  to assist in finding nuanced legal or EU terms and not just literal translation.
  • Beolingus - German to English, Spanish or Portuguese
  • Slovnik - word by word translation for Czech language into English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Latin & Russian

Articles

  • Yates, Sarah. “Scaling the Tower of Babel Fish: An Analysis of the Machine Translation of Legal Information.” Law Library Journal 98 (Summer 2006): 481-500.
  • Somers, Harold. “The Use of Machine Translation by Law Librarian—A Reply to Yates.” Law Library Journal 99 (Summer 2007): 611-619.
  • Kit, Chunyu, and Tak Ming Wong. “Comparative Evaluation of Online Machine Translation Systems with Legal Texts.” Law Library Journal 100 (Spring 2008): 299-321.

Guide

  • Ford, Don, Legal interpreting and translating, updated 2015 - LibGuide, includes powerpoint presentation from AALL 2014 Annual Meeting - University of Iowa College of Law.

Word to the wise: Google Translate is not recommended.

Primary Sources - Multijurisdictional Databases & Websites

  • Foreign Law Guide - subscription database; may need to use NetID to access. Invaluable. Provides information about government & legal system, sources of primary and secondary law in print and electronically available; includes informaton on where to find English-language translations.
  • HeinOnline - Use World Constitutions Illustrated database,  the Foreign & International Law Resources database and the Parker School Foreign & Comparative Law Publications database - Subscription databases, may need NetID to access. Includes foreign law codes in English translation, European Court Reports, etc.
  • Lexis Advance -  International Law Digest - Lexis ID required - search by jurisdiction - use for information about legal system and laws and legal practice in particular areas of law - articles written by practitioners in that jurisdiction.
  • HG.org (Hieros Gamos website)- free internet website with links to legal sources and law firms for 192 countries outside of the United States.

Secondary Sources - Multijurisdicitonal Periodical Indexes & Databases

Indexes

  • Legal Source (Full-Text) - Subscription database of almost 900 legal journals, may need NetID to access
  • PAIS International - Covers governmental policies in various languages starting in 1937 - Subscription database, may need NetID to access.

Databases

  • Directory of Open Access Journals: DOAJ - Free internet resource incuding more than10,000 journals, over 5000 searchable at the article level - Includes a number of foreign law journals in full-text.
  • Lexis.com - Go to Lexis Advance, click on Research then Lexis.com - look in Legal - Foreign Sources and in News & Business for journals and newspapers for your jurisdiction. Lexis ID required
  • WestlawNext also has foreign legal periodicals for a number of foreign jurisdictions. Click International Materials, then the jurisdiction you desire. Westlaw ID required.

Secondary Sources - Multijurisdictional Catalogs & Bibliographies

  • WorldCat - Database of library catalogs showing the holdings of academic, special and public libraries and archives in the United States and elsewhere in the world, including the Library of Congress, the German National Library, the British Library, Bibliotheque Nationale in France and other national libraries. Searchable by author, title, publisher, subject, etc. and search can be limited by language, year of publication, format and other critera. Use to find books and journals but not specific journal articles.

Reference - Multijurisdictional Research Guides & Texts

Guides:

See:

  • GlobaLex - NYU's Hauser Global Law School Program research guides for Foreign Law - electronic - sorted by jurisdiction.  See also International Law and Comparative Law guides.
  • LLRX -  Comparative/Foreign Legal Research guides sorted by topic - electronic.
  • Rajotte & Cox, Foreign Law Guide - UCONN Law Library LibGuide (updated 2013 by Cox).

See also the research guides at law library websites of schools such as Harvard, Georgetown, University of Michigan, Columbia, etc. for particular jurisdictions and subjects,  but remember that UCONN Law may not have access to  the same resources referenced in those guides.

Texts:

See:

Reference - Multilingual Dictionaries

Selected titles in the Library's collection: